Georgia’s Hands-Free Law: Is It Working?
With distracted driving at an all-time high, Georgia’s Hands-Free Law prohibits motorists from holding phones and other devices while driving. That means drivers found with their phone in their hand or touching any part of their body while operating a motor vehicle may be fined. What’s more, at-fault drivers in a distracted driving crash that causes property damage, serious injury or death may be prosecuted. Bowen Painter Trial Lawyers wants to make sure you know what to do should you or a loved one fall victim to a distracted driver.
The Georgia Department of Public Safety says they’ve issued 8,306 citations for violating the Hands-Free Law since the law took effect July 1, 2018.
Attorneys have ways to prove a driver was distracted and at fault for the collision by obtaining cell phone records, video footage, etc. However, it is important to know that what you do at the scene of the accident can significantly help your case.
- Seek medical attention first and foremost, if needed.
- Obtain a police report as soon as possible in order to ensure the details of the incident get relayed properly and fully.
- Seek witnesses. Getting witnesses to provide their testimony can be key to providing a detailed description of the incident from an objective standpoint.
So does the Hands-Free Law mean greater deterrence?
While there have been many speculations as to whether the Hands-Free Law will keep people’s hands off the devices and back on the steering wheel, many believe the stricter law will cause people to make much needed changes in their behavior. Violators face a $50 fine for the first conviction and 1 point assessed against their license; $100 and two points for the second; and $150 and three points for third and subsequent convictions.
Georgia is the 16th state in the country to enact the Hands-Free Law in an attempt to stop the increase in traffic fatalities due to distracted driving. Thirteen of the other 15 states that already have similar laws have seen at least a 16 percent decrease in traffic deaths. The Georgia Department of Transportation says 1,549 people died on Georgia’s roads in 2017. If more drivers obey the Hands-Free Law, that number could significantly decrease.
Consult With a Savannah Car Accident Attorney for Free Today
Cellphones and driving can be a deadly combination. If you or a loved one has suffered a serious or fatal injury as a result of a distracted driver, contact a Savannah car accident attorney at Bowen Painter Trial Lawyers to learn more about your rights. You can contact us online or call us directly at 912-335-1909 for a free consultation.
Disclaimer: Information provided on this site is not formal legal advice. It is general legal information. Filing a personal injury lawsuit requires a thorough knowledge of the laws and legal system.